Are you 15 years of age or older and want your State of Maine permit to prepare for your driving exam? We offer driver education courses to help build strong, safe, and confident drivers. Students are awarded an instructional permit upon successful completion of the course with a grade of 80 percent or better.
- Click HERE to register for an upcoming driver’s ed class.
- Full payment of $535 is required at the time of registration. If a student withdraws from the course, $75 is withheld from the refund to cover program costs.
- Total hours of instruction is 40; 30 classroom and 10 driving.
- Waiting List Policy: The waiting list is for the CURRENT CLASS only. If there is a cancellation before the class starts, we will email all students on the current waiting list to let them know a seat has opened up. Registration is on a first-come, first-serve basis.
- The WAITING LIST is for cancellations only. We DO NOT transfer students from one waiting list to another. Please continue to check out our website for new classes and register.
- There is a make-up fee for all missed classes and drives.
Please bring your birth certificate or passport to the first class.
Driver’s Ed Rules & Expectations
The Driver Education Guidelines under which we operate are listed below. These guidelines are in accordance with the Secretary of State and the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- All students must be at least 15 years of age by the time they start class.
- All students must attend at least 30 hours of classroom instruction as prescribed by the Secretary of State.
- If a student misses the classroom portion of the class, a fee of $35/hr will be assessed to make up the class.
- All students must drive behind the wheel for ten hours. An unexcused absence (no show) from the individually scheduled driving time requires an additional payment of $70/hr paid to Merrymeeting Adult Education. A 24-hour notice is required to change times
- If a student needs to withdraw to attend the next session of driver’s ed, a $75 re-enrollment fee will be assessed.
- A parent or legal guardian must accompany their student during behind-the-wheel driving for one of their driving hours to be arranged by the instructor and parent. In addition, the parent or legal guardian must attend the last half hour of the first class.
- Successful completion of the Driver’s Education Course will result when the student has passed each of the following requirements by at least 80%:
- Class participation involving projects, homework, presentations and other in class work covering the chapters of the textbook.
- Final exam covering the Maine State Law Book and driver education texts.
- A road test covering safe behind-the-wheel driving skills.
- All grades will be kept and filed with the Student Record Sheets.
- IF POSSIBLE, please notify us within five business days prior to the first class if you are no longer able to attend.
A CR-24 form must be submitted to the state if your student has one of the following conditions:
- Blackouts/Loss of Consciousness
- Heart Trouble
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Sleep Apnea
- Spinal Cord Injury
- Substance Use Disorder
- Limb Amputation
- Stroke/Brain Injury
- Mental Disorder
- Chronic Lung Disease
- Other conditions affecting your ability to operate a motor vehicle safe